Ancient Glass Blog of The Allaire Collection

Roman Two-Handled Glass Bottle with Trailing

Posted in 2. Ancient Glass, CATEGORIES OF GLASS TYPES ON THIS SITE, Roman Glass by Allaire Collection of Glass on February 8, 2015

 

Roman Two-Handled Bottle with Trailing

 Pale yellow-green glass was used to create this two-handled bottle. The un-marvered threads wound around the body demonstrate a common decoration used by First Century glass makers. The slightly out-turned mouth and pad foot combine to enhance the pleasing proportions of this bottle. The shape and decoration of this example are typical of pieces made during this period.

H: 13 cm

First Century

Ref: Oppenlander #644, Paris Sale #157

20R  Roman Two-handled Bottle 1st Century

20R Roman Two-handled Bottle 1st Century

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lawrence H. Conklin said, on March 1, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    Dear M/M Allaire,

    First of all I thank you for including me in your notices and new posts. Do the specimens represent new or recent acquisitions?

    In the past year I have learned a little about ancient glass and realize that I now know essentially nothing. I have acquired as many reference books as I have encountered and I have, at least, trained my eye as to what is in the ‘great’ collections.

    I am now semi-retired from a longer than 50 year career of buying and selling mineral specimens to museums and collectors and have encountered, among my clients, what I call the ‘eye’ only exceedingly rarely.

    Which brings me to a question. Is it only my imagination or do I pick up a theme in your collection? I believe I see in it a cognoscenti quality of specimens that seems to me to be exceedingly rare in public/private collections and non-existent in commercial offerings-for-sale.

    Any suggestions as to where I might acquire such quality specimens here in the U.S.A? I have purchased a few things via the internet from London but with some difficulty and disappointment.

    Best regards,

    Lawrence Conklin.

    • Allaire Collection of Glass said, on March 17, 2013 at 4:38 pm

      Thank you for your comment.


Leave a Reply

